Guest viewing is limited

Limited company

GazWaz

Hi fellas - need some help here - quite desperately really.

Currently I have a limited company set up during separation period and my ex wife has applied for divorce and a financial consent order. I already pay child maintanance but I got a feeling she wants more money from my business. I have moved on now with my new partner which she is a diamond (thank God). Question is, how do I protect myself? I know that assets from my limited company is not protected (until today I just found out)_...surely there must be a way to protect this....

I have been married for over ten years with two kids (just to give a bit of background).

Please guys if there is anyone that can help I would be so so so so grateful.

Thanks in advance

Gary

I'm not an expert on this, but my understanding is that if it's a limited company, it is only your personal salary from the company that is assessed. Any other assets or income are owned by the business itself. Presumably you're a director? What is assessed as well as your salary though, are any annual dividends etc paid out to you by the business.

I'd suggest having a chat with an accountant - they are pretty good on the legal aspects of limited companies. When a friend of mine was getting divorced he was told - you need an accountant rather than a lawyer re the business aspects. Lawyers don't understand all the business aspects.

Was your ex ever part of the business? In terms of divorce, the starting point is 50/50 re assets - eg house equity and savings. Child maintenance is as assessed by the CMS. How old are your kids? Your ex might try to go for spousal maintenance. Does she work? Do you both have pensions? She could be entitled to a share of your pension if she doesn't have one.